Close Close

Welcome to the Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons' website for animal owners

Accredited Practices

Around half of the UK’s practice premises are accredited under our voluntary Practice Standards Scheme.

Our assessors visit practices in the Scheme every four years to ensure that their facilities meet the standards associated with their category of accreditation. 

In addition to the base accreditations, practices can now apply to be assessed for optional awards in specific areas. This is designed to demonstrate where practices excel in the services they provide and to enable pet owners to opt for the highest standard of care by the 'Good' and 'Outstanding' service rating provided.

Here you can read more about the Scheme and its categories, and how to identify an RCVS-Accredited Practice and award.

PSS Plaque

About the Scheme

Read all about our Practice Standards Scheme, and the reassurance it can provide for you and your pet

PSS plaque on wall

Categories of accreditation

There are a number of different types of accreditation categories - here's what they mean.

Website developed by netXtra